Cultural Broker Initiative

The Cultural Broker Initiative

Beginning in 2009, the Center for Family Involvement funds staff to act as liaisons and cultural brokers. The differences between the two are explained below.

Liaisons
Liaisons are a specific resource to families calling the Family to Family Network of Virginia for 1:1 emotional, informational and systems navigational support who represent that disability or a special community (e.g., deaf, mental health, military).

Any parent can contact a Liaison directly (see contact information below). Liaisons also recruit Family Navigators from across the state (not just from their home region) to support them and the F2F Network. To apply to become a Family Navigator, click the back button and click on APPLY NOW button at the bottom of the Family to Family Network page.

Liaison to….
the Autism community – Linda Caldwell llcaldwell@vcu.edu

the Blind/Visually Impaired Community – Dawn Peifer Email: peiferdm@vcu.edu

the Deaf/Hard of Hearing Community – Irene Schmalz Email: ischmalz@vcu.edu

the Down Syndrome Community – Jill Rose Email: jillrose999@hotmail.com

the Mental Health Community – Patrice Beard Email: pabeard@vcu.edu

the Military Community – Catherine Lochner Email: clochner@vcu.edu

Cultural Brokers
Cultural Brokers are specific to immigrant, refugee and/or racial/ethnically diverse populations. The primary role of Cultural Brokers is outreach to organizations and groups in Virginia (and country) with whom the CFI (and the Partnership for People with Disabilities) should partner with to meet the needs of culturally and linguistically diverse families with children with disabilities. And, to represent the CFI on local, state, and national committees.

Cultural Brokers take phone calls from diverse parents seeking support and support Local F2F Network Coordinators with recruiting culturally and linguistically diverse Family Navigators for their own region. To apply to become a culturally diverse Family Navigator, click the back button and click on APPLY NOW button at the bottom of the Family to Family Network page.

Cultural Brokers…
African Cultural Broker – Mauretta Copeland Email: mcopeland@vcu.edu

Asian and MultiCultural Broker – Angela West Email: westa3@vcu.edu

Immigrant/Refugee Broker – Amel Ibrahim Email: aoibrahim@vcu.edu

Latino Cultural Broker – Diego Zuniga Email: dfzuniga@vcu.edu

Latina Cultural Broker – Nubia Quick Email: nquick@vcu.edu

Download our Cultural Broker Flyer: Cultural Broker Initiative